Downloadable Forms The Public Manager Search

The Career Executive Service Governing Board

The Career Executive Service Board is the governing body of the CES. The CESB is mandated to promulgate rules, standards and procedures on the selection, classification, compensation and career development of members of the CES.

The CESB is composed of eight (8) members, namely: the Chairperson of the Civil Service Commission (CSC) and the President of the Development Academy of the Philippines (DAP) as ex-officio members, and six (6) others appointed by the President of the Philippines for a term of six (6) years.

Day-to-day operations are handled by the CESB Secretariat headed by an Executive Director and a Deputy Executive Director. Five (5) operating divisions are tasked to handle specific program areas.

Civil Service Commission and
Career Executive Service Board Chairperson

Chairperson Alicia dela Rosa-Bala of the Civil Service Commission (CSC) once acted as deputy secretary-general of the ASEAN Secretariat in Jakarta, Indonesia.

She served the Department of Social Welfare and Development (DSWD) in 1976 as a training officer and left the department in 2005 as an Undersecretary.

Chairperson Bala was appointed CESO Rank I in 2010 and was conferred the Presidential Gawad CES in 2012.

She completed her Master's degree in Social Work from the University of the Philippines.

President and Chief Executive Officer
Development Academy of the Philippines

Board Member Engelbert C. Caronan, Jr. is an ex-officio member of the CESB as the incumbent president of the Development Academy of the Philippines (DAP).

With more than 20 years in government service in various elective and appointive positions, Board Member Caronan was appointed by President Rodrigo Duterte as a member of the DAP Board of Trustees in April 2018. On June 27, 2018, the DAP Board elected Board Member Caronan as President and Chief Executive Officer through DAP Board Resolution No. 2018-019. He is the ninth president of the DAP.

A member of the Integrated Bar of the Philippines, he obtained his Bachelor of Laws degree from the Arellano Law Foundation. He also holds a degree in Master in National Security Administration from the National Defense College of the Philippines.

He worked at the Office of the General Counsel of the Human Development Mutual Fund (1998-1999), Provincial Government of Tuguegarao as Provincial Legal Officer (1999-2000) and Public Attorney’s Office (2000-2001). He is also a Professor of Law at the Philippine Christian University, Arellano Law Foundation, University of Cagayan Valley, and Cagayan State University.

A native of Cagayan, he served as City Councilor of Tuguegarao City for three consecutive terms that span from 2004 to 2013. In 2013, he was elected as City Vice Mayor with a three-year term from 2013-2016. He also served as City Mayor from September 2014 to April 2015 by operation of law.

Board Member

BM Metin is a familiar figure in the CES Community as this is his second term as its Board Member, having appointed to the same position in 2006 until 2010. He was Undersecretary of the Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR) from 2003 to 2004 and in that period, he accomplished a lot of innovations such as introducing a competency-based assessment and placement of DENR Directors and increasing the local capacity of extension workers through intensive training and provision of logistic support.

Board Member Metin, who hails from Pinamalayan, Oriental Mindoro holds a Doctor of Public Administration, Master in Public Administration and Bachelor of Arts in Political Science degrees, all of which he completed from the University of the Philippines.

Board Member

Atty. Alberto A. Bernardo is the current Deputy Executive Secretary for Internal Audit (DESIA) in the Office of the President (OP) and holds the rank of Career Executive Service Officer I (CESO I) in the career service. As DESIA, his work encompasses the conduct of audit, good governance and anti-corruption measures in the OP-Proper, Office of the Vice-President and other agencies under OP.

DES Bernardo holds Bachelor Degrees in Commerce and Law. He took and passed the CPA Licensure Examination in May 1979 at the age of 19. In the same year, he entered law school as a working student and subsequently took and passed the Bar Examination in 1984. He also holds two Doctoral Degrees in Peace and Security Administration and in Criminology and a Master's Degree in National Security Administration.

He underwent specialized trainings to include Advanced Terrorism Financing and Money Laundering conducted by the Federal Bureau of Investigation of the US Department of Justice and the Internal Revenue Service-Criminal Investigations Division of the US Department of Treasury.

Board Member

Atty. Erwin M. Enad is concurrently the Assistant Secretary of the Office of the Special Assistant to the President at the Office of the President.

He earned his Bachelor of Laws from Ateneo de Davao University in 2003. He was admitted to the Philippine Bar in 2003 having passed the bar examinations held that year. In 2007, he earned his Master in Management degree from the University of the Philippines – Mindanao.

In 2008, he completed the Training Program for Young Leaders – Legal and Judicial System Development Programme sponsored by the Japan International Cooperation Agency (JICA) held in Tokyo, Japan. In the same year, he completed the Executive Course on Governance and Strategic Management at the Asian Institute of Management (AIM), Makati City.

He previously served as Special Prosecution Officer at the Office of the Ombudsman-Mindanao and Chief of the Regional Legal Service of the Department of the Interior and Local Government, Region XI.

Board Member
Press Release


open in new tab ×

open in new tab ×